Raja Pervaiz Ashraf

D.O.B 26 December 1950

Member Since 1990

Political Party Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP)

Position Senior Member

Raja Pervaiz Ashraf
1.22 (24.32%) 37
Today : 0 Votes
All Time : 2 Votes


Ashraf has been twice elected Member of the National Assembly of Pakistan (MNA) from his constituency of Gujar Khan, Rawalpindi District. He won re-election in the February 2008 elections. During his time as an MNA, he served as a member of the Standing Committee on Kashmir and the Standing Committee on Law, Justice and Human Rights. Before his ascendance to the post of prime minister, he was also the secretary general of the PPP.


Raja Pervaiz Ashraf was Born on 26 December 1950 in Sanghar, interior Sindh. He graduated from the University of Sindh in 1970 and was involved in agriculture before entering politics. He is married to Nusrat Pervaiz Ashraf and has four children, which include two sons and two daughters. Ashraf belongs to the Minhas Rajput clan of Pakhral and is originally from Gujar Khan, an industrial town in the Rawalpindi District of the Potohar region in northern Punjab. The Pothook region is home to numerous prominent political and military personalities. Ashraf comes from a middle class Potohari-speaking family of landowners who have had a traditional background in politics. An uncle of his served as a minister in the cabinet of Ayub Khan during the 1960s. His parents owned agricultural land in the town of Sanghar in Sindh, where he was Born and brought up. Alongside Urdu, Punjabi and Potwari, he can fluently speak Sindhi.

He is regarded as an important PPP loyalist and leader in the Rawalpindi region. He contested parliamentary elections in 1990, 1994 and 1997. He won in elections held in 2002 and then in 2008, following which he was appointed as federal minister for water, and as power minister in the cabinet of Prime Minister Yousaf Raza Gillani.


Raja Pervaiz Ashraf was the 17th Prime Minister of Pakistan. He served as the Minister for Water and Power in the Yousaf Raza Gillani-led cabinet from March 2008 to February 2011. He is a senior leader and politician of the Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP) from Rawalpindi District. Ashraf assumed premiership on 22 June 2012, after Yousaf Raza Gillani was disqualified over contempt of court charges. He was shortlisted by the PPP as a candidate for the post and was eventually elected based on a 211–89 vote in the National Assembly. Raja Pervaiz Ashraf is the only Prime Minister in the history of Pakistan, having left the office after completing the term and receiving Guard of honour. During Ashraf`s rule no major or mega corruption scandal was reported. One of the major achievements during his role as Minister and subsequently as PM was his interest to develop and implement hydro projects in particular Neelum-Jhelum project of 970 MW. The project had received a big jolt when the Chinese Exim Bank refused to release $448 million loan linking it to the restoration of the Safe City Project in Islamabad which has been stopped by the Supreme Court of Pakistan.During his tenure WAPDA had launched a number of mega and medium-sized projects in Gilgit-Baltistan

3 thoughts on “Raja Pervaiz Ashraf

  1. Akshay Kumar

    plz dont say anything to anyone hum pakistani wo qom hai jis ke sath jab ghalat hota hai to us ko rokne ke liye kuch nhi krte magar hone ke baad zaroor bolte hai wo bhi apni zuban pe ghali jaise gande words use karke


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Top 5 Parties

Top 5 Politician