Pakistan Muslim League (Functional)

Pakistan Muslim League (Functional)
2 (40%) 6
Today : 0 Votes
All Time : 5 Votes


The Pakistan Muslim League (Functional)a political party in Pakistan. It is one of the factions of the original Pakistan Muslim League. The letter 'F' in its name stands for "functional".
It is primarily associated with the Sindhi religious leader Pir Pagaro. It was formed in 1985 when the establishment decided to make Muhammad Khan Junejo the president of united PML, Pir Pagaro parted ways with the mother league and formed his own party. In the 2002 Pakistani general election, the party won 1.1 % of the popular vote and 4 out of 272 elected members. In May 2004, PML (Functional) merged with PML (Q) along with other parties to form united PML. However after 2 months in July 2004, Pir Pagaro parted ways with the united PML citing differences with the Chaudhry brothers and calling PML, the Jatt league. In the 2008 Pakistani general election, the PML-F won 4 general seats, which allotted them one reserved women seat raising to 5 National Assembly seats. On the other hand, it won 8 provincial seats in Sindh and 3 in Punjab

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Top 5 Parties

Top 5 Politician